Urology and the nobel prize

Nicol S. Corbin, Ian Thompson

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

5 Scopus citations


The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, first awarded in 1901, was established by Alfred Nobel to acknowledge "those who during the preceding year had conferred the greatest benefit on mankind." Two urologists have achieved this daunting task: Werner Theodore Otto Forssmann (1956) and Charles Brenton Huggins (1966). This article reflects the lives and accomplishments of these men as an inspiration to those who have likewise dedicated themselves to the field of urology.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)83-85
Number of pages3
JournalUrologic Oncology: Seminars and Original Investigations
Issue number1
StatePublished - Jan 1 2003

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Oncology
  • Urology


Dive into the research topics of 'Urology and the nobel prize'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this