Classification and radiographic analysis of acromioclavicular dislocations

G. R. Williams, V. D. Nguyen, C. A. Rockwood

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

91 Scopus citations


Six types of dislocations are discussed with specific pathologic, anatomic and radiologic findings. The first three types are the same as the Type I, Type II, and Type III lesions as described by Tossy and colleagues1 and later clarified by Allman.2 A Type IV lesion consists of a posterior dislocation of the clavicle that is grossly displaced superiorly toward the base of the neck. Type VI lesions comprise an inferior dislocation of the distal clavicle to a subacromial or subcoracoid position.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)29-34
Number of pages6
JournalApplied Radiology
Issue number2
StatePublished - Dec 1 1989

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Radiology Nuclear Medicine and imaging


Dive into the research topics of 'Classification and radiographic analysis of acromioclavicular dislocations'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this